2018 DLD Award Recipients

Posted on

Posted on January 23, 2019

We would like to congratulate this year’s DLD Award Winners!  Below is a description of each award and our winners.

Samuel A. Kirk Awards

Winning Research Article: Baker, D. L., Richards‐Tutor, C., Sparks, A., & Canges, R. (2018). Review of single subject research examining the effectiveness of interventions for at‐risk English learners.  Learning Disabilities Research & Practice,  33, 64-74.

Winning Practice Article: Schumacher, R.F., Jayanthi, M., Gersten, R., Dimino, J., Spallone, S., & Haymond, M.S. (2018). Using the number line to promote understanding of fractions for struggling fifth graders: A formative pilot study. Learning Disabilities Research & Practice,  33, 192-206.

The Kirk Award is named after Samuel A. Kirk, one of the United State’s foremost leaders in special education and the field of learning disabilities. This award is overseen by DLD’s Publications Committee, is given occasionally, and recognizes excellence in professional journal articles that have been published in Learning Disabilities Research

Jeannette E. Fleischner Career Leadership Award
Winner: Dr. Asha Jitendra, University of Minnesota

The Fleischner Career Leadership Award honors those who have advanced the field of learning disabilities through direct services, policy development, community service, research or organizational leadership throughout their career.

Marva Collins Diversity Award
Winner: Anna Elise Kay, Albuquerque, New Mexico

The Marva Collins Diversity Award honors a special education teacher who makes a significant impact in the education of children and youths with learning disabilities who come from culturally and linguistically diverse backgrounds.

Outstanding Educator of the Year Award
Winners: Dr. Kelly Grillo, Flagler County Schools & Corali de Pablos, Broward County Schools

Outstanding Educator-of-the-Year Awards are designed to recognize outstanding professionals who serve students with specific learning disabilities. Nominees may be special educators, general educators, administrators, or other educators who have spent at least 5 years serving students with learning disabilities at any grade level.

Congratulations to our DLD Award Winners!